Charter For Business

The Charter for Business (CFB) is the Award’s primary funding body, made up of benefactors (Founding Partners) from across the country. Established in 1996, the CFB is a partnership with the business community designed to support the expansion of The Award in Canada, with a particular focus on disadvantaged youth. 

Managed by an independent Board of Governors, the CFB brings together dozens of Canada’s leading corporations, foundations, and business executives to build a strong base of support for The Award. 

The CFB’s primary goal is to ensure that The Award and its benefits are made available to nearly 5 million young Canadians who fall within The Award’s age range, including 1 million who are considered to be at-risk. 
Learn more

A Message from CFB Chairman Hartley T. Richardson


Hartley T. Richardson, CM, OM
Chairman - The Charter for Business
President & CEO - James Richardson
& Sons, Limited
John See
President - TD Waterhouse Canada Inc.
David Aisenstat
President & CEO - Keg Restaurants
John Sherrington
Vice Chair - Scotia Capital Markets.
Tye Burt
Chair – The Better Planet Project
John Sleeman
Chairman - Sleeman Breweries Ltd.
Jeff Cook
National Treasurer -
The Duke of
Edinburgh’s Award 
Paul Mahon
President & COO - Great-West Lifeco
Phillip Crawley, CBE
Publisher & CEO - The Globe and Mail
Anthony Von Mandl, OBC
Founder - Mission Hill Family Estate
Jim Kershaw
National President -
The Duke of
Edinburgh’s Award
John Risley, OC
President & CEO -
Clearwater Fine
Foods Incorporated
James S. Kinnear
President & CEO - Kinnear Financial Limited
National Benefactor -
The Duke of
Edinburgh’s Award
Rick Ashbee
National Executive Director - The Duke
of Edinburgh’s Award
Janice M. O.Born
Chairman - The Printing House
Charitable Office
Christopher J. Carnegie, LVO
Director - The Charter for Business

Gregory S. Belton, CVO   
The Honourable J. Trevor Eyton,
Anthony S. Fell, OC  
James K. Gray, OC, AOE   
Robert R. McEwen, CM   
David G. McLean, OBC   
E. Courtney Pratt, CM